The Prime Minister

Theresa_May_UK_Home_OfficeThe UK Prime Minister is Rt Hon Theresa May MP who is  head of the UK government. She is ultimately responsible for all policy and decisions.


  • oversees the operation of the Civil Service and government agencies
  • appoints members of the government
  • is the principal government figure in the House of Commons

The Cabinet

The Cabinet consists of a maximum of twenty-two paid government ministers chosen by the Prime Minister. They can be Members of either House of Parliament. The Cabinet develop government policies, and some members head government departments.

See UK Cabinet Ministers


Ministers are chosen by the Prime Minister from the members of the House of Commons and House of Lords. They are responsible for the actions, successes, and failures of their departments.

Ministers by Cabinet 

The Parliament

Parliament is made up of 3 elements: The Queen, the House of Commons and the House of Lords. They meet together only on occasions of symbolic significance such as the State Opening of Parliament, when the Commons are summoned by the Queen to the House of Lords.

The agreement of all 3 elements is normally required for legislation, but that of the Queen is given as a matter of course.