Studying in the UK

Across the UK there are five stages of education: early years, primary, secondary, Further Education (FE) and Higher Education (HE). Education is compulsory for all children between the ages of 5 (4 in Northern Ireland) and 16. FE is not compulsory and covers non-advanced education which can be taken at further (including tertiary) education colleges and HE institutions (HEIs). The fifth stage, HE, is study beyond GCE A levels and their equivalent which, for most full-time students, takes place in universities and other HEIs and colleges.

  • Click here for more information on UK education
  • Click here for more Information on UK higher education degrees and recognised awarding bodies
  • Click here for information on further education courses and funding

Student Visa

UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) runs the UK’s visa and immigration service.

The UK Council for International Student Affairs, British High Commission in Nairobi and Education UK all provide general advice on fees and funding, immigration and visas. For enquiries on visas and immigration visit the UK Border Agency website.